Based on the Novel by

Louis De Bernières

Born 8 December 1954

Born in London, grew up in Surrey.

Degree in Philosophy from the University of Manchester. Was then an English teacher in Columbia before he started to write.

Key works include:

2015 The Dust That Falls From Dreams
2013 Imagining Alexandria: Poems in Memory of Constantinos Cavafis (Poetry Collection)
2009 Notwithstanding: Stories From an English Village (Short Story Collection)
2008 A Partisan's Daughter (2008 Costa Novel Award)
2006 A Walberswick Goodnight Story (Poetry Collection)
2004 Birds Without Wings (2004 Commonwealth Writers Prize - Eurasia Region, Best Book) (2004 Whitbread Novel Award)
2001 Gunter Weber's Confession
2001 Sunday Morning at the Centre of the World
2001 Red Dog
1999 A Day out for Mehmet Erbil
1998 Our Lady of Beauty
1998 The Book of Job (Non Fiction)
1997 Stupid Gringo
1997 Labels
1994 Captain Corelli's Mandolin (1995 Commonwealth Writers Prize - Overall Winner, Best Book) (1995 Lannan Literary Award - Fiction) (1994 Sunday Express Book of the Year) (1994 Commonwealth Writers' Prize)
1992 The Troublesome Offspring of Cardinal Guzman (1992 Commonwealth Writers Prize - Eurasia Region, Best Book)
1991 Señor Vivo and the Coca Lord (1991 Commonwealth Writers Prize Eurasia Region, Best First Book)
1990 The War of Don Emmanuel's Nether Parts

Back to Cast & Creatives